History of DCCIA Pune

In the year 1994, on the 6th of June, a group of industrialists, owning units on Pune-Nagar road, assembled over high tea at Milton Plastics ltd, at the invitation of its Director, Mr. Yogesh Vaghani and Mr. V.L Malu of Hitech Plast Containers India Ltd. The idea was to form a common platform for the industries located on Pune-Nagar Road, to address the problem faced by them. The response was overwhelming with 45 out if 55 invitees responding to idea. This was foundation day for “Nagar Road Industries Association”. An ad HOC committee was formed under the chairmanship of Mr.Yogesh Vaghani, the other member being Mr.Surinder Aggarwal, Mr Omprakash Agarwal, Cdr A.V. Ghole (Retd), Mr. Sanjay Ajmera and Mr.V.L.Malu. A small get together over high tea thus transformed into Deccan Chamber Of Commerce Industries and Agriculture Association.

There was no looking back for Nagar Road Industries Association, ‘NRIA’, as it was then known. The membership grew from 10 to 200+ within 24 year. Initially, the membership was restricted to industries located at Sanaswadi, Shikrapur and Koregaon Bhima on Pune Nagar Road. Later the member was extended to Shirur, Ranjangaon MIDC, Chakan Industries, Pimpari Chinchwad, and Talegaon Industries Area. Many large Industries located in the newly formed MIDC at Ranjangaon quickly became members.

In order to truly reflect the work being done under the umbrella of Nagar Road Industries Association (NRIA) and to augment further growth, the association converted into “Nagar Road Industries Chamber of Commerce and Agriculture” (NRICCA), a body corporate, registered under the Companies Act 1956 in August 2004. Subsequently, to open membership to industries Located in different parts of Pune and Maharashtra, the chamber was renamed as “Deccan Chamber Of Commerce Industries and Agriculture Pune” (DCCIA Pune for Short) and operating as such w.e.f. 1.April .2009

The executive committee has an innovative and professional approach. All members of the DCCIA Pune deem it a privileged for their organisations to be regarded as one of the most active individual Chambers in Maharashtra .The chamber is well represented at the regional Advisory committee, Regional Advisory Committee Chief Commissioner of GST & Customs, Grievance Aedrenal Committee Pune Zone, Permanent Trade Facilitation committee Customs-Pune and at Udyog Mitra, Govt of Maharashtra, where it has been making meaningful contribution to further the cause of Member Industries.

Over the last decade ,the chamber has been Felicitating eminent personalities for their valuable contribution to the society by instituting a “Lifetime Achievement Award “ and three “ Awards of Excellence “.These Annual Award Functions have been graced by some of the very prominent personalities and dignitaries of India, either as “Awardees” or as “Chief Guest”. To name a few:- Padmashree Anna Hazare, Mr. Arun Firodia, Mr Shekhar Bajaj, Mrs. Anu Aga, Dr. Nilkant Kalyani, Mr. Ronak Singh,Mr.Naushad Forbes, Mr. Ashwin Dani ,Mr. Bharat Ram, Mr. T.N Sheshan, Mr. Ram Jethmalani, Dr DR Karthikeyan – Former Director CBI, Dr DY Patil – Former Governor of Bihar, Dr Srinivas Patil – Former Governor of Sikkim, Shri Vitthal Kamath – Kamath Group of Hotels, Padmashree Dr Leela Poonawala – Former MD Alfa Laval Ltd, Dr Anu Aga – Former Chairperson Thermax Ltd, Mr Atul Kirloskar – Kirloskar Oil Engines Ltd and Shri. P B Acharya,Former Governor of Nagaland & Shri. Shekhar Mande Director General Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

All issues big or small, directly or indirectly concerning our members have been taken up by the Chamber effectively and redressed. To achieve this, the managing committee is ably assisted by its Sub Committees working independently in its areas of Central Excise, Human Relations, and Industrial Relations, Environment, Health and safety ( EHS ) ,corporate social responsibility ( CSR ) ,Education, etc. Burning issues such as Toll, Gram Panchayat taxes, Legal Matters Mathadi Issues, GST and Custom Matters and local self-government issues are all taken up. The Chamber also has the honour of being recognised as authority for issuing Certificate of Origin and recommending issuance of foreign travel visa for business. It has excellent rapport with both Urban and Rural Police.

The Chamber organises meaningful programmes to promote interaction at every level between member Industries. Dinners are hosted for CEOS of member Industries where eminent personalities are invited to share their views and interact socially with Captains of our local industry. Dignitaries such as Mr. Pramod Chaudhary,( Chairman Praj Industries ) ,Dr. Mohan Agashe ( noted Theatre and film personality ) ,Padmashree Dr. S.B Majumdar ( President symbiosis Society and noted educationalist Pune ),Mr .Prabhakar Deshmukh ( Former Dist Collector Pune ), Mr. Umesh Chandra ( Former divisional commissioner of Pune ), Padmashree Dr. Vijay Bhatkar ( Noted I.T personality ),Padmashree Dr.Leela Poonawala (noted Industrialist ) and Mr. Raj Jain ( Former M.D Whirlpool India Ltd) have graced the occasion and have shared their views with our members.